72 Blackfriars Road, Southwark, London, SE1 8HA, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7620 0811
website: View bar's website
Horário: Mon-Sat noon-11pm; Sun noon-10:30pm
Para entrar: Entrada livre
Estilo: Gastro pub
Recomendado para: Alfresco, Cerveja, Comida
Faixa de preços: Mediano
Comida: Menu completo
This friendly little pub opposite Southward tube station is named in memory of London's first indoor 'working class' boxing ring. Built in 1783, the circular building was originally the Surrey Chapel, until 1910 when acquired by former British Lightweight Champion, Dick Burge and his wife Bella, who staged regular bouts and renamed it The Ring. Bella and her friends broke the taboo of women spectators, and with the notoriety she became known as 'Bella of Blackfriars'.
A Nazi bomb dropped during a daylight raid on 25th October 1940 seriously damaged the building before another dropped the following March completely destroyed The Ring. Diagonally opposite this pub, the site is now the offices of the London Development Agency.
The walls of this single roomed pub are fittingly hung with framed monochrome photos of past boxers, and pairs of gloves hang from decorative antlers. This well run, cosy hostelry boasts four cask ales on hand-pump and a respectable line up of lagers and other beers on draught.
The mustard and ketchup on each table are an indication of the tasty pub grub served here while roadside picnic tables offer ringside seats to watch London go by.