123 Baronne Street,
(btwn Common & Canal Sts),
+1 504 529 4733
View bar's website
Originally the Grunewald, this grand old hotel was opened in 1893 by Louis Grunewald. Later it was sold to a syndicate of New Orleans businessmen who renamed it the Roosevelt in honour of Theodore Roosevelt. In 1949 the hotel acquired the rights to the Ramos Gin Fizz as well as the Sazerac and the famous Sazerac Bar was moved to the hotel. Later that year a group of women broke the bar's men only rule (except on Mardi Gras Day).
The hotel became part of the Fairmont chain in 1965 and the bar moved to its present position off the main lobby. The hotel remains an opulent art deco gem and the Sazerac Bar is wonderfully old school with walls of African walnut veneer and a mural of cotton pickers. Grand, leather upholstered bar stools line the bar, which is dominated by two huge silver cups. Here well-ripened hotel guests relax and recite stories.
This is the spiritual home of some important classic cocktails and the white jacketed bartenders usually do the Sazerac justice.